Home The List Friend Links Site history Contact

The List
page 1 - page 2 - page 3 - page 4 -  page 5 - page 6 - page 7 - page 8 

Commercial virtual instrument bargains

Some well known commercial companies of audio softwares make demo versions of their famous programs with usual limitations (no load/save options) but without the blank or white noise that appears every 20 seconds, or other time limitation that make them unusable.
So, these rare demos can be played as long as you want, and provide some very good sounds, just limited by the number of internal presets. It is mainly the case of soundbanks, as you can see below...



Sound banks
IndependencefreeIndependence free 2 by YellowTools is a full featured sampler coming with 2 Gb of free samples ! No import function, of course, but everything of the commercial version works, and you can save your projects. The software is very good, and offers sample edition, mapping, mixing etc. The sounds : classical but good synths and arpeggios, rather varied percussions (a beautiful battery kit with some settings but not many layers, ethnic percussions), a good bass, nice acoustic and electric guitars, DX electric pianos, some good drum loops, and a not so bad church organ...  win / mac / standalone / vst / au

kontaktplayerKontakt player 5 by Native Instruments is a free sample player, like UVI Workstation, given with some soundbanks from Kontakt 4, containing a B3 organ, a Minimoog bass, mellotron male voices, a 808 kit, a kalimba, and a complete section of cellos, with 6 articulations. You can also download another selection of sounds, (muted trumpet, guitars, basses, electric piano, upright piano, percussions, world instruments etc), a total of 50 instruments. win / mac / standalone / vst / rtas

EW-kompakt-demoEastWest Kompakt demo 2006 is, as its name says, a demo version of EastWest sound banks in a lite version of kompakt sampler. It features 12 good instruments (2,2 Gb of sounds) : orchestral concert toms, french horns, violas, a choir of women, a kora, a bodhran, an electric guitar, a bass guitar, a drum kit and three sounds of synths. Of course, no import nor compatibility with Kontakt or Kompakt (full version), but you can save your settings... win / standalone / vst / rtas

uvi-workstationUVI Workstation is the actual extended version of UVI Engine by UltimateSoundBank, and it is not a demo version but a free and full featured software. The sound banks are not free, of course, but UVI Worksatation comes with a demo sound bank of 415 Mb, offering some instruments and mainly loops. The software is a bargain by itself, because it contains a lot of parameters, with edit and modulation capabilities, filters, envelopes, lfos, and many good effects like a convolution reverb, real time time stretching, 64 midi ins, separate audio outs, mix functions, import of several formats : Rex, AIFF,wav etc. win / mac / standalone

The free demo of the previous version of UVI Engine by USB is no more available, but it can load special light versions of USB commercial sound banks (that were downloadable on the site), extracted from Retro Organs, Synths Anthology, X-Treme FX, Mayhem of Loops and Retro Keyboards. If you find them (UVI Engine and the free sound banks), do not miss them, because the 4 bar organs, for example, sound much better than any freeware emulations... Vst and standalone.

Plugsound-freePlugsound free by USB is the old first version of UVI Engine, and you can still find a demo of it offering 29 instruments in light versions : mainly keys, synths and drum kits... Only vst.

proteus-vxProteus VX by E-MU Systems is a lite version of Proteus X, running without E-Mu sound cards. It is a sort of GM bank with 1024 presets ! The samples are basic and not very good, but they are widely improved by an army of good filters and effects (54 !). Most of the presets sound synthetic, artificial, but it can be useful to all the people who can not buy excellent commercial sound banks. The best sounds are mainly electronic organs, electric pianos, synths and basses. Forget all the acoustic instruments, except the "dynamic grand" piano which is good... Register before downloading.

Virtual drummers and bassists
Addictive-drumsAddictive Drums by XLN Audio is a magnificent virtual drummer, and its demo version (no load, no save) sounds very good, but it offers only 4 instruments : 1 kick, 1 snare, 1 hihat and 1 crash cymbal, for a weight of 180 Mb ! Many settings are available (mic position, type of room etc), effects, rythms allowing a good basic rock accompaniment. win / mac / vst / au / rtas

mdrummer-smallMDrummer Small by MeldaProduction is, like its name says, a reduced version of the commercial virtual drummer MDRummer. Of course no load nor save, no edit pages (only a "quick setup" page), but a 180 Mb multi-purpose bank, with varied sounds and rythms. A real and easy-to-use virtual drummer which can be useful. Vst and standalone.

broomstickbass4BroomstickBass by Bornemark is a sample-based virtual bassist featuring drum accompaniment. The reduced demo version comes with two sounds, a picked or damped Fender Precision bass and an Odyssey basic one. The sound is rather good, and you can adjust on the first page tune, release, glide, shuffle, speed (only x1/2,x1 or x2), choose different variations and patterns (not many of course : it is demo), activate or not a good sounding drum accompaniment, choose between manual or automatic play. On a second page, you can adjust accent, chord, tuning, velocity, octave, and use 1 EQ, 1 pitch shifter, 1 chorus, 1 overdrive and 1 compressor... Limited but usable... win / mac / vst / au

Magazineware are not completly freeware, since you have to buy an issue of the magazine, for which they have been made, to get them. They are often lite or reduced versions of commercial softwares, but they are complete, not limited synths. So, you purchase one issue of the magazine, at its normal price, and you get virtual instruments of various qualities, and among them some real treasures...

The CM Studio
Computer Music is the most renown magazine in its category, and offers each month a DVD full of softwares and free samples. Among them, the CM studio contains around 40 audio softwares and comes with each issue of the magazine. So, to get it, you have just to purchase one issue... Of course, it becomes bigger gradually, but slowly... To purchase one issue, if you live in a place without Computer Music (like me), see the site Computer Music, and choose one of the last issues.

ZebraCMZebra CM by U-he is a scaled down version of the fabulous Zebra synth, made by Urs Heckmann, who designed a special beautiful interface for it. With 2 Osc and 16 waveforms, morphing capabilities, 3 Lfo, 2 envelopes, 1 VCF and some effects (delay, reverb), its richness, creativeness, beauty and variety of sounds make it the best magazineware ever made, and, alone, it is worth the price of the magazine. An absolute must-have that sounds exactly like Zebra. win / mac / vst ogg
wusikstationCMWusikstation CM is a lite version of Wusikstation 1, very good rompler/sample based synthesizer by William K. It can play up to 6 layers simultaneously, feeding 4 Osc and 2 wave sequencers (up to 128 steps), modulate them with 8 lfos, 1 big modulation matrix, 1 vector X/Y pad, 4 filters, 4 EQs, 2 effects per preset (among double chorus, quad chorus, stereo echo, distortion, reverb). Excellent for soundscapes, complex and rich atmospheric pads, it can also do anything else... Coming with many presets, it is a fascinating jewel.... ogg
GenesisCMGenesis CM by Ummet Ozcan is a 4 voices poly synth with 2 unison Osc, that can play up to 44 voices per key, 176 voices simultaneously, with a bit of FM, 2 Lfo, 2 filters per osc, 3 envelopes and effects : delay, reverb, chorus/crusher, phaser and distortion. It sounds very powerful, fat, very good for techno and acid musics... ogg
Astralis CM is a scaled down version of Astralis B, a complex sample based synth by Homeground Sounds, made for atmospheric pads, soundscapes and sound design. It has a "dual oscillator" with 11 waveforms, 2 modulation sequencers, 1 modulation matrix, 1 gate sequencer, 1 arpeggiator, 1 ring modulator, many effects (echo, delay, flanger, EQ, clipper, organic etc), routing system for effects, microtonal tuning, random buttons to make it easier to use... Very interesting and inspiring, it gives good quality sounds, though they are a bit harsh and stuffy.

Astralis Orgone CM is a lite version of Orgone, almost the same thing as above, but is the next generation of sample based synths by Homeground Sounds. It is also made for sound design, with similar results, and this CM version has more options than the Orgone Lite of which we speak page 3, like 50 samples instead of 25...

DominatorDominator is a well done and versatile virtual analogue synth, made only for Computer Music. With 3 osc and 6 waveforms, 2 multimode filters per voice (12 voices), extended control for each voice, lfo, a waveshaping section with 5 modes, 5 different routings for filters and waveshaper, a mixer, ring modulation, 3 envelopes, a chorus etc, the sound is not that original, but good, melodious and powerful... As good as good freeware VA synths, it can be used as effect...

microteraMicrotera by Virsyn is already an old magazineware, but still is one of the best, combining additive and waveshaping syntheses, and coming from Tera 2 and Cube. With 3 Osc, 32 voices, 2 Lfo, 2 multi-segment envelopes (64 each), and effects (delay, distortion and modulation), it has the really good and original Virsyn sound. You can find it only in second hand issues of these magazines : issue 35 of the french magazine Recording Musicien (07/08 2004), issue of 10/2003 of the german magazine Keys, or number 9 (12/2003) of the english magazine Music Tech... If you find it, do not hesitate. win / mac / standalone / vst ogg

The List : page 1 - page 2 - page 3 - page 4 - page 5page 6 - page 7

Accueil La Liste Le studio virtuel gratuitBCR presets Liens amis Historique du siteContact


La Liste
page 1 - page 2 - page 3 - page 4 - page 5 - page 6 - page 7 - page 8


Les aubaines des logiciels commerciaux
Certaines marques commerciales réputées proposent des versions de démo avec les limitations habituelles (pas de load/save), mais, ce qui est rare, sans l'interruption du son ou le pschittt survenant à intervalles réguliers et rendant le logiciel inutilisable. Cela fait que ces instruments sont tout à fait jouables dans la limite des presets fournis, et présentent des sonorités de grande qualité utilisables telles quelles. C'est le cas surtout de firmes proposant des banques de son, et c'est l'essentiel de ce que vous allez trouver dans cette liste, constituant quelques excellentes aubaines...
english

Les synthés




Les banques de sons
IndependencefreeIndependence free 2 de YellowTools est bien un sampleur complet fourni avec 2 Go de samples, dont la seule limite est de ne pas pouvoir importer d'autres samples que ceux fournis ! L'ensemble est très bon, et regroupe des fonctions d'édition, de mapping, un mixer, la possibilité de sauvegarder vos projets, etc. Quant aux sons fournis : un paquet de classiques mais beaux synthés avec des arpèges, des percussions assez variées, dont un beau kit de batterie avec plusieurs réglages mais peu de layers, et des percus ethniques, une bonne basse, des guitares sèches et électriques pas mal, des pianos électriques DX, quelques belles boucles de percu, et un orgue d'église moyen... win / mac / standalone / vst / au
http://www.yellowtools.us/cp21/cms/index.php?id=842

kontaktplayerKontakt player 5 de Native Instruments est proposé en version gratuite, en concurrence à l'UVI Workstation, avec des banques de sons tirés de Kontakt 5, comprenant un magnifique orgue B3, une basse de MiniMoog, les voix d'homme du mellotron, 1 kit de 808, une kalimba, et surtout une section de violoncelles avec 6 articulations commandables par key switch. On peut en plus télécharger une sélection d'autres samples, comprenant ceux déjà cités plus trompette, guitares, basses, piano électrique, piano droit, percussions, instruments traditionnels etc, en tout 50 instruments. win / mac / standalone / vst / rtas
http://co.native-instruments.com/index.php?id=kontaktplayerdl




EW-kompakt-demoEastWest Kompakt demo 2006 est, comme son nom l'indique, une démo proposant des sons des banques de samples EastWest qui utilisent Kompakt comme lecteur, comprenant : une section de cors, des timbales d'orchestre, une section d'altos, un choeur de femmes, une guitare électrique, une basse, une kora, un kit de batterie, un bodhran, et trois sons de synthé, soit 2,2 Go de sons pour seulement 12 instruments de belle qualité... Bien sûr, pas d'import ni de compatibilité avec Kontakt ou Kompakt, mais on peut sauvegarder ses réglages... win / standalone / vst / rtas
http://www.tradebit.com/filedetail.php/1120551-Sounds-MIDI-Miscellaneous

uvi-workstationUVI Workstation est la version actuelle et très étendue de l'UVI Engine d'UltimateSoundBank, et ça n'est pas une démo mais bien un lecteur de samples et de boucles gratuit et très complet. Ce sont les banques qui sont payantes, mais le logiciel est accompagné d'une banque de démonstration de 415 Mo, regroupant quelques instruments et surtout des loops diverses. Le logiciel en lui-même est une affaire, car il contient un nombre étonnant de paramètres, dont des fonctions d'édition et de modification des sons, comme des filtres, enveloppes, Lfo, et une riche panoplie de bons effets, dont une réverb à convolution de belle qualité, le time stretching en temps réel, 64 entrées midi, des sorties audio séparées, des possibilités de mixage, l'import des formats Rex, AIFF et wav etc. win / mac / standalone
http://www.uvisoundsource.com/uvi-workstation/article_info.php/articles_id/8

Uviplayer
UVI Engine d'USB est l'ancienne version du lecteur/expandeur virtuel de la marque. USB en avait fait une version gratuite pouvant importer des versions réduites de ses banques payantes, spécialement tirées de Retro Organs, Synths Anthology, X-Treme FX, Mayhem of Loops et Retro Keyboards. Plus disponibles, si vous les trouvez, ne les ratez pas, car les 4 orgues, notamment, sont plus beaux que n'importe quelle émulation freeware... Vst et standalone.

Plugsound-freePlugsound free d'USB aussi, est une démo de l'ancienne UVI Engine, et on la trouve encore sur le net dotée de sons intéressants de 29 instruments dans des versions light : claviers, synthés et kits de percussions surtout... Vst seulement.
http://www.alexanderblu.com/AlexanderBlu/Download/download_5.htm

proteus-vxProteus VX d'E-MU Systems, est une version allégée de Proteus X, fonctionnant même sans carte son de la marque. C'est une espèce de banque GM de 1024 presets, aux samples très ordinaires dans l'ensemble, dépassés par ce qu'on fait aujourd'hui, mais agréablement gonflés par une panoplie complète de filtres et d'effets divers de bonne qualité (54 !). Ça sonne synthétique, artificiel, mais ça peut rendre service à ceux qui n'ont pas accès aux excellentes banques payantes. L'intérêt se porte surtout sur les orgues électroniques, les pianos électriques, les synthés et basses, tous en grand nombre. Oubliez les pianos (sauf le premier, très correct), cordes et instruments acoustiques en général... S'enregistrer pour télécharger...
http://lesitedeburnie.free.fr/Host/ProteusVX.zip


Les batteurs et bassistes virtuels
Addictive-drumsAddictive Drums de  XLN Audio est un magnifique batteur virtuel, et sa version de démo (ni save ni load), qui ne propose que 4 instruments, 1 kick de grosse caisse, 1 caisse claire, 1 charley et 1 cymbale Crash, sonne magnifiquement, et pèse déjà 180Mo. Elle propose beaucoup de possibilités de jeu (réglage des micros, type de pièce etc), d'effets, et des rythmes permettant de faire un bon accompagnement rock. Le set est restreint, mais fait une bonne base... win / mac / vst / au / rtas
http://www.xlnaudio.com/?page=downloads&d_page=demoversion

mdrummer-smallMDrummer Small de MeldaProduction est, comme son nom l'indique, une "petite" version du soft commercial de batterie virtuelle MDrummer. Bien sûr, pas de load ni de save, et pas possibilité d'édition (seule la page "quick setup" est accessible), mais une banque polyvalente de 180 Mo, aux sons assez variés, avec pas mal de rythmes disponibles. Un vrai batteur virtuel facile à utiliser qui peut déjà rendre bien des services. Vst et standalone.
http://www.meldaproduction.com/mdrummer/download.php

broomstickbass4BroomstickBass de Bornemark est un bassiste virtuel avec accompagnement de batterie. La démo propose deux sons, une Fender Precision, et un basse basique d'Odyssey. Le son est plutôt bon, et on peut ajuster sur la première page l'accord, le release, le glide, le shuffle et la vitesse (seulement x1/2, x1 et x2), choisir différents patterns et variations (peu puisque c'est une démo), activer ou pas l'accompagnement de battertie qui sonne bien, opter pour un jeu automatique ou manuel. Sur une seconde page, on peut ajuster l'accent, les accords, la hauteur, la vélocité, l'octave, et profiter d'un égaliseur, d'un pitch shifter, d'un chorus, d'un overdrive et d'un compresseur... Limité mais utilisable... win / mac / vst / au
http://www.bornemark.se/bb/downloads.htm





Les magazineware
Les magazineware ne sont pas totalement gratuits, puisque, pour les acquérir, il faut acheter un numéro de la revue audio pour laquelle ils ont été faits. Ce sont souvent des versions allégées mais autonomes, complètes, de logiciels commerciaux. Donc, vous achetez la revue à son prix normal et vous avez en plus des instruments virtuels de qualités diverses, au milieu desquels on trouve des petites merveilles...


Le CM Studio
Computer Music est la revue de MAO la plus connue au monde, et propose chaque mois un DVD plein de logiciels et de samples gratuits. Parmi cet ensemble, le CM studio est un groupement d'une petite quarantaine de logiciels audio et présente l'avantage d'accompagner chaque numéro de la revue, ce qui fait qu'il suffit d'acheter n'importe quel numéro (et un seul) pour l'avoir... Si ce n'est qu'il s'enrichit peu à peu, bien sûr... Pour passer commande, si vous n'avez pas ça près de chez vous, après être passé par le site de Computer Music, vous pouvez choisir un numéro récent.

ZebraCMZebra CM par U-he est une réduction du fabuleux synthétiseur Zebra d'Urs Heckmann, qui a refondu le synthé avec une interface spécifique très réussie. 2 Osc avec 16 formes d'ondes, des possibilités de morphing, 3 Lfo, 2 enveloppes, 1 VCF et quelques effets (delay, reverb)... La richesse et la variété sonores, la beauté des timbres en font le meilleur magazineware existant, qui justifie amplement à lui seul l'achat de la revue, un must absolu qui sonne exactement comme Zebra. win / mac / vst ogg
wusikstationCMWusikstation CM est une version réduite de la version 1 du rompler/sampler fait par William K. Il peut empiler jusqu'à 6 layers, nourrissant 4 Osc et 2 wave sequencers (jusqu'à 128 pas), les moduler avec 8 lfos, 1 matrice de modulation, 1 pad X/Y pour la synthèse vectorielle, 4 filtres, 4 EQs, 2 effets par preset (parmi 1 double chorus, 1 quad chorus, 1 écho stéréo, 1 distortion, 1 reverb). Excellent pour les nappes atmosphérqiues riches et complexes, il peut aussi tout faire... Fourni avec beaucoup de presets, c'est un petit bijou fascinant. ogg
GenesisCMGenesis CM d'Ummet Ozcan est un synthé polyphonique 4 voix, avec 2 Osc à unisson permettant de jouer jusqu'à 176 voix à la fois, de la FM, 2 Lfo, 2 filtres par oscillo, 3 enveloppes et des effets intégrés : delay, reverb, chorus/crusher, phaser, distortion. Tout ça en fait un synthé du genre extraverti, au son puissant, épais, idéal pour la techno et ses dérivés... Un must dans ce genre.ogg
AstralisCM
OrgoneCM
Astralis CM est une réduction d'Astralis B, un synthé complexe à base de samples d'Homeground Sounds, orienté nappes atmosphériques, sound design, paysages sonores etc. Doté d'un "dual oscillator" à 11 formes d'ondes, de deux séquenceurs de modulation, d'une matrice de modulation, d'un gate sequencer, d'un arpégiateur, d'un ring modulator, d'une riche section d'effets (écho, delay, flanger, égaliseur, clipper, organic etc) avec système de routage, ajustement microtonal, et des possibilités de "randomization" facilitant grandement la programmation, il est très intéressant et permet de produire des sons de qualité, bien que manquant d'air et d'ouverture, et un peu durs.
Astralis Orgone CM est une réduction d'Orgone, de la dernière génération de synthés à samples d'Homeground Sounds, dans le même esprit de sound design qu'Astralis, avec des résultats sonores très proches... La version CM a un peu plus d'options que la version Lite évoquée page 3, comme 50 samples au lieu de 25.

DominatorDominator est un synthé analogique soustractif polyvalent de bonne facture, fait uniquement pour Computer Music. Avec 3 osc à 6 formes d'ondes, unison, deux filtres multimode par voix (12 voix), un contrôle étendu de chaque voix, un lfo, une section waveshaping à 5 modes, 5 routages différents des filtres et du waveshaper, un mixer, un chorus etc, le son n'est pas original mais de qualité, varié, ample et mélodieux... Digne des bons freeware, il peut en plus servir d'effet...

Les autres
microteraMicrotera est un déjà vieux magazineware, mais toujours l'un des meilleurs, mêlant synthèse additive et waveshaping, issu de Tera 2 et Cube de Virsyn. Avec 3 Osc, 32 voix, 2 Lfos, 2 enveloppes multi-segments (64 chaque), et des effets (delay, distortion et modulation), il a le son Virsyn, vraiment très bon. On ne le trouve plus que d'occasion : numéro 35 de la revue française Recording Musicien (juillet-août 2004),  numéro d'octobre 2003 de la revue allemande Keys, ou numéro 9 (décembre 2003) de la revue anglaise Music Tech... Si vous le trouvez, n'hésitez pas. win / mac / standalone / vst ogg

fg
La Liste : page 1 - page 2 - page 3 - page 4 - page 5page 6 - page 7  
fd

firefox